The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Portly Cooks | Comfort Food | Fish & Chips

Fish n chips

In a fit of I really want one of those, I bought myself a new fryer the other day, the old one having blown itself up in a little puff of smoke.  I normally use my wok for frying things and to be fair I don’t ‘deep’ fry all that much food.  I’ve been wanting to try little things here and there, that having a fryer at home makes slightly easier. For its first outing though; Fish and Chips were on the menu. Now this isn’t a fancy mind blowing new way of doing things recipe. Its Fish and Chips that’s easy to do, super tasty and comforting.

  • 2 tails of Hake
  • 1 handful of chips (I cheated with ready to go ones)
  • Broccoli
  • 1 cup of self-raising flour
  • ½ cup ice cold water
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Pinch of Pepper
  • Pinch of Paprika
  • Pinch of Garlic powder

I started by heating my fryer to 190c (its highest setting) to make sure that everything would be cooked and more importantly crispy.  Once the little red light had blinked out telling me the oil was up to temperature, I added my chips and cooked them for about 5 minutes until they were nicely golden brown and crispy.

I then tossed them in a bowl with some salt (you can add some truffle oil here if you like, it makes them amazing) and put the broccoli on. I then put the chips in a warm oven so I could get on with the hake. For the batter mix the flour, water, salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic together. It should form a fairly thick batter, by all means add more water if you like it thinner.

Pat the fish dry and dunk it in your batter mixture making sure it’s well coated. Finally add the fish to the fryer and fry until golden and crispy, again around 5 minutes or so. Once it’s at that stage, plate it all up and enjoy some homemade fish and chips!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2016 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
