The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Portly Eats | Waffles for Breakfast | Silver Cloud, Portland, OR

20160421_081053

As Donkey in Shrek 1 says “We can stay up late swapping manly stories and in the morning… I’m making waffles.” I’d never actually made a waffle before and be honest I cheated a bit with this one.  The batter was ready made and in a dispenser (and blueberry flavoured) in my hotel dining room, so all I actually did was put it in the waffle iron.

I did however have a choice of topping for my waffle one was that classic North American breakfast staple, Maple Syrup the other, was marionberry sauce. The marionberry is quite a big deal in Oregon, it turns out that over half of the blackberries produced in the state are marionberries. I really liked it, I’m a sucker for a blackberry and apple crumble so a sauce of blackberries to put on my breakfast is a winner in my book!

This is my go to recipe for Pancakes, if you don’t have a waffle iron (like me) but you can use the same batter in a waffle iron to make some tasty morning waffles!

  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp Sugar
  • Pinch of Baking Powder

PG

Leave a Reply

Top food blogs
