The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

15 hour Slow Cooked Lamb Tagine

Lamb Tagine

Tagine, I love it and first tried it a few years ago. Since then I’ve made it a few times and have never really followed a recipe, everything in the list below was pretty much in my cupboard. The only thing I had to buy was the Lamb Chops themselves.

  • Lamb Chops
  • Red onion
  • Bacon
  • Mixed bean salad
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Turmeric
  • Cinnamon
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Seymour’s Tagine Spice Mix
  • Chopped apricots
  • Red wine
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Honey
  • Tabasco

Now I know you shouldn’t have bacon in a Tagine but everything is better with bacon right? I started by cutting the bacon into thin strips and cooking it off with the onion. I then added the mixed of bean salad and the tomatoes, followed by the wine and Worcestershire sauce.  The rest I’m sorry to say was guess work, around a teaspoon of each of the spices and 2 of the Tagine spice mix.  Once everything was cooking a reduced down, in separate pan I sealed the lamb chops before putting them in the Tagine pot too!  Finally it was a waiting game, I slow cooked the Tagine for 15 hours, before serving it with some couscous, of course in high oven the dish would be done in around 2 – 2.5 hours!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2016 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
