The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Portly Eats @ St John’s Chop House, Cambridge @Cambscuisine

Guinea Fowl

St John’s Chop House Cambridge, I’ll be honest I had never heard of it until a friend invited me there. I had heard of their sister restaurant opposite Kings College and have always wanted to go, so I was pleased when I realised that the two are run by the same restaurant group which also includes the amazing Smokeworks.

The restaurant is just up the road from Magdalene College in Cambridge on Northampton Street.  The restaurant is welcoming and cozy, we were sat up stairs with some funky theatre audience style wallpaper. It has a simple charm about it that reminds me of trips to my grandparent’s cottage.  Our server was extremely helpful and also patient… it took us a while to decide what we would like to eat from the array of tempting dishes on the menu.

Eventually we all made our minds up, we went for the sharing boards to start along with some amazingly crispy pork scratching’s… seriously they were great and came with an elderflower and apple dipping sauce, if you’re going to the chop house make sure you get some! We had the Artisan Bread Board and the Sharing Board which all kinds of treats on it! My favourite was the little courgette and smoked cheddar balls, I thought they were brilliant and the chive curry mayo when smothered on some of that wonderful bread was to die for.

For my main course I decided to go for the Guinea Fowl mainly because I don’t think I had ever eaten it before and the brandy and tarragon sauce seemed too good to miss! The dish came out wonderfully presented and the guinea fowl itself was perfectly cooked with a lovely crisp skin!  The sauce complemented everything very nicely indeed and I was tempted to use my finger to collect the last of it once I had finished my meal… but you know, manners and that…

We didn’t have pudding in the end as, I’ll be honest we were all super full from all the great food we had been scoffing! Ooo one other thing, in the bathroom they play clips from Blackadder which I think is a really nice feature. So all in all St John’s Chop House is an excellent evening out!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2015 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
