The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Comfort Food: Bread

Now, the title of this says comfort food.  For me personally I’m particularly a huge bread eater, don’t get me wrong I like bread on occasion but if someone told me I wasn’t allowed to eat bread for a month, it wouldn’t fuss me that much. However, making bread that’s a different story, I love making the dough, kneading it, letting it prove, knocking it back and repeating the process.

Making bread can be a time consuming process, but time is the best ingredient you can give food. For example, my Beef Bourguignon takes around 10 hours to cook.  I tend to make bread on a Saturday when I have all the time in the world.  The smell of fresh bread filling the house, mixing with the aromas of coffee and cooking bacon creates a heady mix.   So to make these rolls you’ll need:

  • 500g strong white flour
  • 320ml Luke warm water
  • 1 sachet dried yeast
  • ½ tsp salt

Right then, dissolve the yeast in the water to activate it, add it to the flour and mix to create a lovely ball of dough.  Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for about 5 minutes. Then, put into a well greased bowl, cover with cling film and leave in a warm place to prove for around 20 minutes, or until it has doubled in size.  Once it has, take it out of the bowl, knock it back and give it another quick knead. Then, portion up into your rolls.  Put them on a baking tray and put them back into a warm place to rise again and bake them for about 25 minutes at 180.

 

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
