The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Here comes the sun! Grilled Sardines with Fresh Rocket

Grilled Sardines

The sun has been sticking around a longer than it normally does. I’m dreading the rain, although it would stop me having to water my potatoes, tomatoes and chillies quite so regularly!  All this nice weather though has got me back into eating fish on a more regular basis.  There’s something about the sunshine, sitting outside with a nice glass of wine, and some lovely fresh fish.

With that in mind I got myself some sardines, in an effort to recreate memories of European holidays past.  To be honest I didn’t do a lot with the fish I like to try and keep it as pure as possible.  So grab yourself a nice glass of Rioja (I know red wine with fish, the world is ending! But im not overly keen on white) and these:

  • 4 fresh sardines (per person)
  • Pinch of salt
  • A handful of rocket (per person)
  • 100ml red wine vinegar
  • 50ml lemon juice
  • 50ml of Olive Oil

Now, I don’t actually have a BBQ at the moment, but this works wonders on there (especially if you’re entertaining).  I however used my grill and a baking tray.  I got my sardines prepared for me by my fishmonger but, if you don’t have a fishmonger like me sardines at simple enough to prepare.

Start by chopping off their heads, once you’ve done that cut down from the bottom fin to where the head once was.  Finally get your finger and run it down the inside of the cavity to remove the insides the fish.  Give them a rinse and they’re good to go. Oh by the way if they have scales on just gently run your thumb from the tail to the head end on either side, and the scales should come off.

Once your sardines are ready to go pop them on an oiled baking sheet and season the fish.  Put them under a high grill for about 4 minutes either side, or until they’re nicely golden on either side.  Next, in a small bowl mix together the red wine vinegar, lemon juice and olive oil, this is a nice sharp, quick dressing and works nicely with the oily sardines. Portion out your rocket and plate up your sardines, retire to the garden (if its sunny) and enjoy!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2014 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
