The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

It’s Christmas!! Making Yule Logs

I love Christmas time!  It’s always about food and drink and having a great time with friends and family.  So, for our final cook-off this year I thought we would go all festive and make chocolate Yule logs. Now I have to be honest we did cheat a little bit and bought the Swiss rolls we were decorating, readymade.

2013-12-03 16.04.10

The main focus of this cook-off was the chocolate butter icing that would form the base of the decoration and also the fondant icing that would be used for making other decorations on top of the ‘log’.

Butter icing is fairly simple I grant you but it was great to see the small cloud of icing sugar gradually envelope my students as they try to the beat the butter into submission.  Eventually though they managed it after being told to be a bit firmer with it (seeing as we had no electric whisks, or even any whisks to work with).

My favourite decoration from my Students!

My favourite decoration from my Students!

My modest effort at being a pastry chef...

My modest effort at being a pastry chef…

The best part for me was seeing the creativity of my student s when it came to decorating the Yule logs after they had smothered them in the chocolate butter cream, some of the decorations were incredible!

Merry Christmas!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2013 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
