The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

All hail the Bread Maker!

Bread Maker...Bread

I’m sat here watching ‘The Great British Bake-Off’ and its ‘Free Week’ as in free from gluten etc with mainly bread based bakes.  I’ve recently re-discovered bread.  After finding my bread maker hidden at the back of the cupboard I decided it was time to take it out and have a go again.

My previous attempts at using the bread maker resulted in, what were essentially bricks that any builder would be more than happy to use when sorting out your conservatory or extension.   But this time I would not be beaten.  After asking around a bit I discovered where I’ve been going wrong with my bread maker loaves. It turns out that rather than putting butter into the mixture as it says in the recipe book, using oil makes for a much lighter and altogether tastier loaf (in my opinion anyway).  So now the bread maker is duly loaded with its ingredients and the timer set, so in the morning the house is filled with that amazing smell of fresh bread.  So for my bread maker loaves I’ve been using this;

  • 450g bread flour
  • 1.25 tsp dried yeast
  • 1.5 tbsp sugar
  • 1.5 tsp dried milk
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 250ml water
  • 1 tsp salt

Chuck it all in, stick the timer on, press the button and wake up to freshly baked bread everyday! You’ll never want to buy bread again!  On another note you can also bake cakes in it! Something im yet to try, happy baking!

PG

2 comments on “All hail the Bread Maker!

  1. Me
    October 8, 2013

    Nice looking loaf of bread! Gotta love the simplicity of the bread machine!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
