The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Slow Food: Beef Bourguignon

Last weekend I finally got my act together and completed my PADI Scuba Review, so I can spend the summer (hopefully) diving.  With this in mind I needed something that was going to be satisfying and tasty and also something I could just leave all day to do its own thing.

I’m seriously enjoying my classic recipes at the moment and after a trip to the butcher I decided upon Beef Bourguignon.  There isn’t a picture mainly because I had eaten most of it before I thought ‘ooo I should have taken a photo of that’.

This dish is also great because the longer you leave it the better it gets and this one had some serious cooking time.  all in all 12 hours slow roasting,  the flavour was amazing!!!  Beef Bourguignon is a lovely simple dish and all you’ll need is:

  • Around 800g of braising steak cut into decent chunks
  • 3 rashers streak bacon sliced finely
  • 12 shallots peeled but kept whole
  • 200g button mushrooms
  • 2 cloves of garlic sliced
  • Good pinch of dried rosemary
  • Good pinch of dried thyme
  • 500ml good red wine (e.g. one you’d be happy to drink)
  • 300ml beef stock
  • 4 large potatoes
  • 1 tbsp wholegrain mustard
  • 1 knob of butter

So to start with, in a heavy bottomed pan seal the beef and then leave to one side.  In the same pan add the mushrooms, shallots, garlic and herbs and cook until the mushrooms have gone slightly brown.

Next pour in the wine and beef stock and using a wooden spoon scrape the bottom of the pan to get all the crispy bits off it, these bits will add flavour!! Return the beef to the pan and then in a slow oven (around 130 Celsius) leave in the oven all day.

Just before you’re ready to eat, which for me turned out to be a full 12 hours later, peel the potatoes, boil them and then mash them with the mustard and the butter. Serve with the beef over the top of the mash and enjoy!!!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2013 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
