The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

The Saturday Experiment: Chicken Liver Pâté

Chicken Liver Pate

I love pâté!   There is simply nothing nicer than sitting down with a small selection of crackers and spending the time to lovingly smother each once in a thick, indulgent layer of a perfectly smooth pâté.

It so happens that this week I received a copy of Rachel Khoo’s Little Paris Kitchen . Honestly there are some seriously good recipes in there! It is in Little Paris Kitchen that I stumbled upon a rather nice recipe for Rabbit Liver Pâté.  That being said, my local butcher is a very good butcher but, walking into his shop at 7:30am (yes that is early, but more time in the kitchen!!) on a Saturday morning and asking for rabbit livers, just wasn’t going to be an option.

So I substituted it for chicken livers for two main reasons really; 1. I can actually get hold of them from my butcher on short notice and 2. I’m rather partial to chicken liver pâté, if I ever see it on a starter menu it’s exactly what I order.

This was my first time at making homemade pâté, but now I know exactly how easy it is to do I shall definitely be making much more! Not only is it super easy, it’s also really cheap, the chicken livers used in this recipe cost me £1, far cheaper than most branded pâté in the supermarkets.  My version only needs 5 ingredients and about half an hour preparation and then you’ve got pâté.  You’re going to need:

  • 380g Fresh Chicken Livers
  • ½ red onion diced
  • 1 clove crushed garlic
  • Pinch of dried thyme
  • Clarified butter*

When I said this was easy it really is.  Heat a pan and into it put the onions followed by the garlic and finally the thyme.  Fry off for a little while until the onions are softened.  Next add the chicken livers and fry them on each side for around 2-3 minutes.

Once everything is nicely cooked, remove to a bowl and get out your blender! I used a hand blender as I think it gives a little more control, but if you fancy using a regular blender go ahead!  Once everything is lovely and smooth give it s quick season and transfer it to your pâté dish.  Finally top it with the clarified butter  and leave it in the fridge to chill and set for around 4 hours,

PG

 

*To make the clarified butter put about a tablespoon of butter into a saucepan. Cover with the lid and put over a high heat until the butter melts and boils a little.  Once that has happened, you can separate the heavier white parts from the clear butter liquid.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2013 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
