The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

The Saturday Experiment: Slow Roast Ken Hom Inspired Belly of Pork

I’ve been a bit quiet on my Saturday Experiments of late. I love messing around in the kitchen on a Saturday morning cup of tea, radio on making whatever looks interesting or I have heard about and thought “I could do that better!”

This weekend it was once again the turn of my favourite cut of meat, the belly of pork.  Normally I would have it rolled and roast it ready for a smashing Sunday evening delight.  However this is Saturday it’s a day for different things. Believe me it takes a while to decide what to have on Saturdays.  If I had take-out it would be much easier!

I fancied something with an Asian twist which means only one thing.  Consult with the guru of Asain flavours Ken Hom I found what I was looking for. A dry rub for belly of pork.  Although this being me I didn’t actually have all of the correct ingredients and what with recipes being more guidelines I did it my own way.  The thing I don’t tend to have meat hooks and places to hang bits of pork to dry out with my dog getting to it, so I left that bit out.

There’s one thing you will need with this Pork dish though and that is time.  I was up fairly early and out doing the normal rounds of butchers, bakers and newsagent. The pork went into the oven at 8:20am and eventually came out at 7pm. Slow roasting is the only way to seriously strong and tasty flavours I reckon! For the pork you’re going to need:

  • 1 pork belly, de-boned and scored (ask your butcher)
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • 2 tbsp white pepper
  • 2 tbsp Chinese 5 spice
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • Teaspoon chilli flakes
  • A little oil

In a small bowl mix the dry ingredients together. Then grab your pork and using the oil, massage the skin and flesh until its well covered. Next, find yourself a suitably large baking dish (if you use the juices to make a gravy it is truly nectar from the gods!!) and cover the pork generously in the dry rub mixture.  Make sure you coat everywhere, even the bits that aren’t going to be exposed directly to the heat of the oven, trust me it all adds flavour! Once everything is coated and ready to go stick the pork in a high oven for about an hour so the skin crisps slightly and then knock it down to slow and leave it.  When you serve it, it will blow everything else away i served mine as part of a nibbles kind of dinner with teriyaki beef and a some Cheats Singapore Rice for a bit of colour and also some carbs.

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2013 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
