The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Portly Pudding Club #1 – Sticky Toffee Pudding

For the past few weeks I have made it my own personal mission to recreate traditional puddings. Normally I only really cook starters and main courses, do little baking on the weekend and generally plump for some ice cream when I have a craving for something sweet.

But enough I thought, is enough.  So after having re-kindled my love for this week’s pudding on a trip to Edinburgh, I decided I would have a go at making it myself.  Sticky Toffee Pudding is generally stuck  on the back of a pub lunch menu, or given 2 minutes in the microwave and served from a black ramekin style packet.  Real Sticky Toffee Pudding stirs up memories of long lazy Sunday afternoons feeling over stuffed after a generously portioned Sunday dinner. It’s also a perfect winter dish and when I first attempted making it, it was the depths of winter (there was even snow!) and it was superbly comforting, warming and satisfying.

I didn’t make mine in entirely the traditional way, as I didn’t steam it I bake it in the oven. Having said that though it didn’t seem to make that much difference to the end result which was rather delicious if I say so myself! So for the Sticky Toffee Pudding you’re going to need:

  • 250ml Black Tea
  • 250g Dates
  • 100g butter
  • ½ baking powder
  • 175g self raising flour
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • For the Sauce
    • 100g brown sugar
    • 100g butter
    • 1 small carton of double cream

Start off by making your Tea, you don’t want it too strong so we’re not talking builders here.  Once you’ve got your tea pour it over your dates to rehydrate them and then stir in the baking powder. Cream together the butter and sugar then add the flour, eggs and mixed spice. Once you’ve done that pour in the tea and the dates and fold into the mixture.  Next either line a baking tin with greaseproof or give it a good covering in butter and then add the mixture.  Then bake it at gas 4 which is around 180c.  You can either leave it to cool right down or serve it straight away, for the sauce just stick all of the ingredients into a pan and wait for them to melt, as the sugar dissolves it will caramelise and once the sauce is golden in colour drizzle it over your pudding.

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2013 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , .
Top food blogs
