The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Sea Bream on Samphire with a Brown Shrimp Butter

Bream on Samphire

Valentine’s Day, personally I don’t get the hype there are heart shaped balloons and adverts on the T.V. to buy custom made awfully soppy looking cards off the internet. To me February the 14th is a non holiday mainly because there’s no day off work!

Moaning aside, I got myself some Bream and Samphire for my personal Valentines meal.  I love Samphire, the grass that I have heard called ‘ocean going asparagus’ which is a term I think sits rather well. To go with the Bream and Samphire a Brown Shrimp butter and roasted mini new potatoes flavoured with some Thyme. You’re going to need:

  • 1 fillet Sea Bream
  • Samphire
  • Butter
  • Brown shrimps
  • Mini new potatoes

Start off by par boiling the potatoes, if I’m honest I had virtually cooked them all of the way through before draining them. Then adding a little oil and some seasoning to their saucepan and quickly frying them with a little thyme before transferring to the oven to roast for about 15 minutes. Once the potatoes are in the oven you can either boil or steam your Samphire.  I prefer to steam mine as it retains more of its natural crunch. At the same time fire up your grill and cook the bream until the flesh has turned opaque then turn and crisp the skin (if you like a crispy skin that is).  Just before serving in a small saucepan melt the butter with some garlic and lightly fry the brown shrimp then use as a garnish for the finished dish.

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
