The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

The Best Brownies I’ve ever made!

Last weekend, I made my first ever Brownies.  I know what you’re thinking how has it taken so long to make Brownies?  Well to be honest this is the first time I’ve made them from stratch. What I normally do is buy the just add oil and an egg brownie mix stuff, which to give it its merit it does make brownies that a pretty good. However, after last weekends atempt I shall never buy the brownie mix ever again!  A couple of weeks ago I was out and about browsing the food section of my local book shop, when I came across ‘Michel Roux: The Collection,’ as soon as I had seen it it was paid for and in my bag.  Last Saturday I sat with my normal cup of coffee flicking through page after page of delicious recipes when I stumbled across one for Brownies. I thought if I’m ever going to make them this is the recipe to follow.

 

  • 200g butter
  • 200g 70% cocoa chocolate
  • 4 eggs
  • 220g brown sugar
  • 120g plain flour
  • 200g pecans (I used walnuts)

 

As with many pastry recipes this one has a lot of little things that need to be done. As I was making the brownies I thought that it would have been handy to have a sous chef on hand. At one point I had to balance my mixer on the edge of the bowl whilst I stirred the chocolate and butter together.  In hindsight maybe I should have melted the chocolate and butter first and then whisked everything, but I was in a rush to try this recipe so I followed it literally word for word! After all of the hard work, my efforts were rewarded by the most amazing brownie si have ever made, definitley worth having a go at what with christmas just around the corner!!

 

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2012 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
