The Portly Gourmet

Good food doesn't have to be difficult…

Simple Haddock in Beer Batter

Last night was Fish night, and it was a rather simple affair, just a couple of Haddock Fillets, and a few chips.  I could have just grilled it and I would have been satisfied but that felt just too simple.  So I decided to do a bit of beer batter to go around my Haddock.  I’ve read about beer batter before but, I’ve never actually made one.  So last night I guessed at it and it turned out rather well, I have read in cook books that if you use water it must be ice cold or, you should mix sparkling water with the beer. I did none of that.  I found some room temperature lager that had been residing by the wine rack and decided that now was its time to shine.  To make Portly Gourmet beer batter you will need:

  • 1 – ½ cups Lager or Ale (It really depends what you have in the house)
  • 1 cup Self-Raising Flour
  • Pinch Baking Powder

 

So having opened the lager, in a bowl mix it together with the flour and baking powder (it should be a fairly think batter).  Once you’ve done that you can either heat some oil in a deep skillet, or use a deep fryer (I used the skillet, as the fryer is buried at the back of the cupboard). Coat the fish and fry until the batter has turned a nice golden brown colour, serve with some chips and salad and enjoy!

PG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2012 by in Blog.
Top food blogs
